Motor Vehicles & Registration

All vehicle registrations begin with the Town Clerk and can be completed ONLINE or in person during regular office hours.  If you are new to NH, you must declare residency where you reside before a vehicle registration may be processed.  New residents to New Hampshire are required to complete this process within 60 days of moving to New Hampshire.

Exceptions

20 day temporary plates, moped registrations, and some military personnel registrations. Customers wishing to register off-road vehicles must contact NH Fish and Game.

Frequently Asked Questions for Vehicle Registrations

I am a new resident of Nottingham, formerly from another state.  What documents do I need to register my vehicle?

  • For vehicles manufactured after 1990, the original title (or Certificate of Origin) or the name and address of the lien holder.
  • The current registration.
  • Proof of residency (one of the following):

Utility bill in resident’s name for service at the Nottingham address
Copy of deed in resident’s name for Nottingham property
Closing statement
Letter from landlord verifying residency or a   copy of a lease agreement

  • For vehicles manufactured prior to 1991, the original title OR a VIN verification form (available at Town Clerk’s office).  If it is a newly acquired vehicle, you’ll also need a bill of sale.

I am a new resident of Nottingham, formerly from another NH town/city.  What documents do I need to renew my registration?

  • The current registration
  • Proof of residency (one of the following):

Utility bill in resident’s name for service at the Nottingham address
Copy of deed in resident’s name for Nottingham property
Closing statement
Letter from landlord verifying residency
Copy of a lease agreement

I recently purchased a vehicle and want to transfer the plates from my former vehicle. What documents do I need to register my new vehicle?

  • If the vehicle was purchased from a dealer:

The Town Clerk’s copy of the Application for Title (a blue form) OR a Certificate of Origin AND the original, current registration for your former vehicle.

  • Proof of residency (if applicable)
  • If the vehicle was purchased at a private sale:

The original title (if the vehicle was manufactured after 1990)
A bill of sale
Proof of residency (if applicable)
If the vehicle was manufactured prior to 1991, a previous NH registration form OR a VIN verification form (available at the Town Clerk’s office) or a valid out of state title.


The NH Dept. of Motor Vehicle Bureau of Registration oversees and processes State of NH Registration certificates for those vehicles required by statute to receive one.  Boats, International Registration Plan (IRP), Vehicle Dealers, Inspection Stations, Emissions Testing, Pupil Transportation, Walking Disabilities, Municipal Agents, and Registration Research all fall under the Bureau of Registration.